LRFT administer eighty-five Maori Land blocks - these land blocks are situated in the Maori Land District of Aotea - some have major conservation areas in accordance with principles of Kaitiakitanga of protecting Lake Taupo, Lake Rotoaira and associated rivers and tributaries.

The land blocks of LRFT are divided into three categories:

First Schedule Blocks
These blocks were included in the Trust for afforestation. Most of these were suitable for afforestation and were leased to the Crown and planted. They are now gradually being released from that Lease. While some blocks and parts of blocks proved to be unsuitable for afforestation, together they contributed to the viability and environmental management of Rotoaira Forest. All these blocks share in the distribution of forestry income.

Second Schedule Blocks
These blocks are situated on the shores of Lake Rotoaira. They are in their natural state and are not part of the lease or developed in forest.

Third Schedule Blocks
These blocks are referred to as the Desert Road Blocks, due to their location – to the east of Mounts Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu. The high altitude proved unsuitable for afforestation – the Trust continually looks for other uses for these lands.

The Maori Land Court maintains all Maori Land ownership records.

First Schedule Rangipo North 2D1
Mangahouhou 2A Rangipo North 2D2
Mangahouhou 2B Rangipo North 2D3
Mangahouhou 3A Rangipo North 3C
Mangahouhou 3B Ruamata
Mangahouhou 3C Section 1 Block V Pihanga Survey
Mangahouhou 3D District
Ngapuna Tokaanu B2M8
Ohuanga South 2D1A1 Tokaanu B2M9
Ohuanga South 2D2B Tokaanu B2M10
Ohuanga South 2F1 Waihi Kahakaharoa 4B
Ohuanga South 2G1 Waihi Kahakaharoa 5
Ohuanga South 2H1A Waihi Kahakaharoa 6A
Ohuanga South 2J2 Waihi Kahakaharoa 6B
Okahukura 2A Waihi Kahakaharoa 7
Okahukura Part 2B2A Waihi Kahakaharoa Part 9C
Okahukura 2B2B (Southern Severance)
Okahukura 2B2C Waimanu 1A
Okahukura 2B2D Waimanu 2C
Okahukura 3A Waimanu 2F1
Okahukura 4A Waimanu 2F2
Okahukura 4B1 Waimanu 2G1
Okahukura 4B2 Waimanu 2G2
Okahukura 5A Waimanu 2G3A
Okahukura 5B Waimanu Part 2G3B Northern
Okahukura 6A2 Severance
Okahukura 8M2B2A Waiunu
Okahukura 8M2B3A1 Second Schedule
Okahukura 8M2B3A3 Okahukura 1B
Okahukura part 8M2B3B2 Okahukura 8M2B3A2
Okahukura 8M2C2B2 Okahukura 8M2B3B Balance
Oraukura 2 Puketi 1
Oraukura 4 Rangipo North 1C1A
Papakai 1 Rangipo North 2C1B
Pukawa 2F Rangipo North 2C1C1
Pukawa 2G1 Rangipo North 2C3A1
Pukawa 2G2 Rangipo North 2C3A2
Puketi 2A2 Waimanu 2A
Puketi 2B2 Waipapa 2C2B
Rangipo North 1C2 Waipapa Part 2B2C Balance
Rangipo North 1C3 Third Schedule
Rangipo North 2C1C2 Rangipo North 4C
Rangipo North 2C1D Rangipo North 5C
Rangipo North 2C2B2 Rangipo North 6C
Rangipo North 2C3B Rangipo North 7C
Rangipo North 2C3C